All Items by Source

Courseware

NOUN Coursware Some full text availableopenURL
This is a list of all course materials pulished by the National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN). Materials are downloadable in PDF format.

Search Engines

BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video

BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) is a multi-disciplinary search engineto scholarly internet resources

COnnecting REpositories(CORE). Some full text available
The CORE Search Engine facilitate the access and navigation across relevant scientific papers stored in Open Access repositories. over 18 million articles.
Free Full PDF Some full text available
Searches over 80 million free scientific publications. Life sciences. Health sciences Physics sciences, Mathematics, Social sciences and Humanities.

FreeFullPDF.com increases the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific journals, theses, posters and patents. All scientific subjects are covered and all content are freely available in PDF format.

Google Scholar Some full text available
Google search engine searches specifically for scholarly literature including books, peer-reviewed articles, theses, preprints, and technical reports. Links to the full-text of articles from open access (available without a subscription) journals and preprint repositories.
Google Scholar Some full text available
Google search engine searches specifically for scholarly literature including books, peer-reviewed articles, theses, preprints, and technical reports. Links to the full-text of articles from open access (available without a subscription) journals and preprint repositories.
Microsoft Academic Live Search Some full text available
This is a Search Engine that focuses on scholarly resources.
OpenDOAR Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video
This service, based on the Google Custom Search engine, lets you search the contents of the repositories listed in OpenDOAR for freely available academic research information.
OpenDOAR Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video
This service, based on the Google Custom Search engine, lets you search the contents of the repositories listed in OpenDOAR for freely available academic research information.

Dictionaries

Bibliomania Reference Some full text available
Find fully searchable copies of language reference books, including dictionaries, books of quotations, synonyms, thesaurus, and literary sources.
Dictionary.com
 One of the the world's most popular dictionary and thesaurus with definitions, synonyms, antonyms, idioms, word origins, quotes, audio pronunciations, example sentences.

Merriam Webster Online Some full text available


For more than 150 years, in print and now online, Merriam-Webster has been America's leading and most-trusted provider of language information.
Merriam Webster Online Some full text available


For more than 150 years, in print and now online, Merriam-Webster has been America's leading and most-trusted provider of language information.
Thesaurus.com

This is the Online version of Roget's II: The New Thesaurus, 3rd edition. It is  the largest and most trusted free online thesaurus brought to you by Dictionary.com. Quickly find synonyms and antonyms.

Directories

Internet Public Library
The Internet Public Librar (ipl2) is a global information community that provides in-service learning and volunteer opportunities for library and information science students and professionals, offers a collaborative research forum, and supports and enhances library services through the provision of authoritative collections, information assistance, and information instruction for the public.

Encyclopedias

Wikipedia
 The free encyclopedia that you can edit. This Encclopedia should be used with caution.

Statistics/Data

UN Data
 UNdata is an internet-based data service which brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point 
World Bank Open Data Some full text available
This is free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
European Statistics online (EuroStats) Some full text available
 Detailed statistics on the EU and candidate countries, and various statistical publications
FedStats (United States) Some full text available
FedStats is the gateway to the Federal Statistical System of the United States, providing access to statistical information from more than 100 federal agencies.
International Monetary (IMF) Fund Data & Statistics Some full text available
This is the statistical source covering numerous topics of international and domestic finance. It includes, for most countries, data on exchange rates, balance of payments, international liquidity, money and banking, interest rates, prices, etc. Most annual data begins in 1948, quarterly and monthly data dates back to 1957 and most balance of payments data begins in 1970.
Office of National Statistics (UK) Some full text available
Office of National Statistics (ONS) produces and publishes a wide range of the information about Britain that can be used for social and economic policy-making as well as painting a portrait of the country as its population evolves over time.

Open Data UK Some full text available
This is data gathered by UK authorities at public expense to be made freely available for reuse by individuals.
Open Data US Some full text available
 Data.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files